Paris

Paris is in the eye of the beholder

When I left the states, fourteen months ago, there were no realistic plans set in place for possible friends or family to visit me. I wasn’t upset at this fact. I was aware that it isn’t very fair to ask those closest to me, to use up their little vacation time – if they have any, and spend bundles of money to fly over 5,000 miles just to come and visit. While yes, they wouldn’t just be visiting me (even though that’s reason enough) they would in addition get to experience Paris.

I left the PDX airport, with damp eyes, and a photographic memory of all the people I cared most about. Trying to remember the tiny details just so I wouldn’t forget them during my time here. Thankfully, I only needed those memories for a few months. As my time went on here, opportunities presented themselves for multiple friends, and even my mother and sister to come and visit me. I was ecstatic at the idea of getting to show, and not just tell when it came to me explaining things I’ve seen/done/eaten. The entire experience of exploring a foreign place with those near and dear to your heart is a priceless one. Obviously not technically priceless, it is actually a pretty pricey tag, but that’s besides the point. You get what I mean.

As the months passed on, and my time was coming to an end, I had accepted the fact that I wouldn’t see any familiar faces until I returned back to the State’s. To my surprise, I was going to be granted one last visitor before my departure. A friend I’ve had for years, lived with, worked with, and genuinely enjoyed life with. So for all those reasons and more, I was thrilled at receiving one last guest.

After now having had multiple guests come over, stay with me, tour around the city with me, and essentially becoming a part of my French life, I have formed a new opinion. Paris is not the same to all that see’s her. What the city offers to one person, may not be the same thing to the next. While one may get joy out of indulging in French pastries, someone may only desire comfort food – aka American food. Paris is not necessarily the same trip to anyone who comes here, even if the itinerary’s are essentially very similar. I am by no means saying this is a bad thing, nor am I surprised that each person is capable of forming their own opinions… I am simply recognizing that what may be considered ‘the norm’ in regards to pleasures here, may not pass down to the person next to you.

Traveling in itself is an exhausting experience. Rewarding, yes. But exhausting. Combine that, with multiple personalities, appetites, and mentalities. It can sometimes be even more exhausting than the actual traveling itself. With each guest, I noticed there were varied expectations and mentalities. Which was to be expected. Trying to adapt to all of said expectations, and pleasing everyone is not the easiest of tasks. Especially if one person has a very specific appetite, only desiring fettuccine Alfredo pasta in a city where it is basically non existent. That is just a hypothetical example… or is it?

I guess I began this post with no real intention, other than to express how not everyone sees the same things the same way. Ok, thats obvious, but to be even more specific, not everyone will marvel at thé sacré Coeur the same exact way you will, and that’s ok. It’s all okay.

Quick little shout out, to all of those that have traveled so very far to come and experience this French life with me, creating unforgettable memories, endless laughs and abs that hurt from laughing so hard. Not only are you guys the real MVP’S, but so are the friends and family that have continuously been there for me, even with the distance. Never allowing the 5,000 miles to come in between our relationships, if anything, it made some of them stronger. Being able to send and receive hand written letters from friends has become a reality, and not just something I dream about in a romanticized world. So thank you, to the ones that traveled, and to the ones that stayed.
** here are some photos from my latest friends visit here! 

— for my personal memory box, I would like to jot down some things I’ll want to remember. 

-the simplicity of being with someone you are so comfortable with, there is no hesitation to anything you say, do or see.  Being able to have the best of time, simply being silly, repeating a funny word a hundred times a day to one another just because it makes us giggle.  Those are the best moments 

-jabronies (the original jabronie)

-goin ham in the back

   
                                   

Standard

Leave a comment