Paris

French health system

I am slowly starting to understand the necessity for French employees to only work 35 hours a week, in addition to having approximately 3 months of paid vacation. The necessity being, they need all the extra time they can get, in order to take care of everyday tasks. Such as the doctors. You may be asking yourself, “In America we work more than 35 hours a week, and sometimes don’t even have paid vacation, yet we still find time to go to the doctors?” I know my friends, this is a very confusing concept. Seeing as I have now experienced the life over here, I feel I can speak on the subject.

The answer is simple. Us folk back home, can do all the things we do and still find time for the doctors, because our medical fields are ran much differently back home than to France. Simple procedures that usually don’t even require a doctors visit back home, turn into a five day excursion in France.

Read below, to get an example of what a very basic, basic exam turns out to be :

Step 1.
Make Doctors appointment
Step 2.
Show up at appointment (20 minutes early) only to be seen 50 minutes after your scheduled appointment time
Step 3.
Leave doctors, go to pharmacy
Step 4.
Go to medical laboratory to deposit your desired testing properties
Step 5.
Wait 3 days to return to medical lab to retrieve lab results
Step 6.
Make another doctors appointment, return to doctor with lab results
Step 7.
Go back to pharmacy
Step 8.
NEVER GET SICK AGAIN

Now yes, France does have benefits to it’s medical system, obviously! It is all ran through their social security program, meaning most things are pretty dang cheap. The other side of that double edged sword however, is the efficiency. I may be biased, considering I come from a place that literally consists of one single doctors appointment, and you are able to receive test results via text/email a few days later. There are no needs for second doctors appointments, let alone two separate trips to a medical lab drop off center. I take care of a child all day at a house, and I still have a difficult time finding the time to make it to all of these places.

While I do see, and appreciate the benefits of the French medical system (even though I technically have yet to benefit, considering mishaps with my personal social security… but that’s another story) I hate to admit that I am eagerly awaiting returning to my ‘norm’. Fast and efficient medical procedures.

However, if you find yourself in France needing some sort of medical information, I stumbled across this blog (english written) that provides some decent tips on where to find doctors, or prescriptions you may need! Link below.

I almost forgot, another fun fact.  There is no such thing as modesty in France. I’ve been aware of this fact considering you see people basically making babies in the grass gardens near the Eiffel Tower… But I expected some level of modesty to be present in a doctors office. I was wrong.  If you are lucky, you may just get asked to get undressed right then and there, with no gown, nor privacy given.  It makes one think to themselves “sheesh lady, at least buy me a drink first” but you aren’t even given time to spit out that (always funny) jokes.  Needless to say, there are many fun times to be had when it comes to doctor visits whilst in France. 



http://www.colleensparis.com/2011/10/the-paris-pharmacy-fixing-what-ails-you/


Also, this beautiful art piece was featured in the office of my doctor.  Amongst the other paintings of lily pads, and mountains, hung a water coloring painting of a Range Rover? I’m still confused by this piece. 

  

Standard

Leave a comment